1 review

Introduction

Hello, my name is Mark!
I am Vietnamese-American, and was born and raised in Orange County, California. I came to Japan in 2009 as an international student at Waseda University, and subsequently began working professionally as an English teacher in 2012.

I have a long history of working with kids. I began babysitting when I was 15 years old, taking care of my younger cousins as well as the younger kids (between the ages of 5 and 12) that I knew through my local swim team/club. Here in Japan, I've had the opportunity to babysit my old university friends' and coworkers' children (between the ages of 5 and 15).

I am also happy to babysit pets. As a pet owner myself (2 dogs), I understand the need for some extra help. I'm happy to care for both dogs and cats!

Why I Joined CareFinder:
In Japan, it's become commonplace these days to have households with 2 working parents. While personally I think this is great, it also presents some unique challenges for those parents, particularly regarding childcare. It's for this reason that I wanted to find a way to be of service and help through CareFinder.

English Teaching Experience:
・Kindergarten
・Elementary School
・Middle/Junior High School
・High School

Hobbies:
・Sports (swim, volleyball, bouldering/rock climbing)
・Travel (domestic and international)
・Photography (taking pictures/video and video editing)

Activities with Kids:
・Sports
・Hand Games
・Card Games
・Video Games
・Cooking (interactive cooking with kids using simple recipes: cookies, sandwiches, etc.)

As your babysitter, I hope to not only give your kids big smiles, but also give you, the parents, peace of mind. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask them at anytime.

I'm looking forward to helping you take care of your children.

Experience

I have been babysitting since I was in high school, caring for children between the ages of 5 to 12 in the U.S. I usually babysat on a regular basis (a few times per week) for both my cousins and younger members of my swim team. Some activities we usually did included: cooking and sports. I also used to teach swimming classes during this time to young children between the ages of 5 and 8 years old.

Since coming to Japan, I have had a few opportunities to regularly (once or twice per week) babysit young children of working parents. Because I can speak both English (native) and Japanese (fluent/conversational), I have been able to provide a unique child care experience for the children in English while also creating a smooth communication atmosphere with the parents in both English and Japanese.

Other than my babysitting experience, I have also been teaching English in Japan professionally since 2012 at various levels: kindergarten, elementary, middle/junior high, and high school. This experience has further reinforced my ability to care for young children in a safe, fun, and interactive way.

Comfortable caring for

Children

  • 4 - 6 years old
  • 7 - 11 years old
  • 12+ years old
2 Children

Skills & Services

Languages

  • Japanese
  • English

Services

  • Pick up children from
  • Mother's helper after childbirth
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Cooking/Meal Preparation
  • Care with foreign language
  • Homework help
  • Events
  • Pet care

Availability

 
6am - 9am
9am - 12pm
12pm - 3pm
3pm - 6pm
6pm - 9pm
9pm - 12am
12am - 6am
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
This schedule may not be up-to-date.

Reviews

5
Your rating: 5

[CareFinder Team Review]
Mark is an outgoing and polite person who is very experienced with children. He hopes to share his passion for teaching and engage your children with fun filled activities. In addition, he enjoys playing creative games, card games and interactive cooking with children. If you are looking for an experienced teacher who can teach online and entertain your children with story times and other different activities, he would be a great online tutor for your family!

Andie@CareFinder