Introduction

I am from Ghana but have been living in Japan for a while now. I am currently pursuing a Master's degree in International Relations at Tokyo International University. I am a native English speaker. Before I came to Japan, I worked as an English teacher for children of age 15 years and below. I have a high sense of commitment and love for sharing knowledge with children. So, I enjoy spending time with children.
I became interested in babysitting after my Sister had her first child. Even though I was just 16 years old then, many people were amazed at the excellence and devotion I had in taking care of the baby. I was so excited to watch the baby grow each day. So, many of my family members and older friends frequently requested I spend some time with their children. I think that children are adorable, cute, fun, and exciting to be with. When I interact with them, I create a lot of fun activities that keep a big smile on their faces.
In Japan, I have participated in several multi-cultural programs where I got to interact with many Japanese children. Apart from keeping them safe, I also teach them some basic English Language and expose to them relevant information that prepares them for the world. I love to sing, dance, play games and make funny drawings with children.

Experience

I have worked as an English teacher for children ranging between 6 months and 15 years for 5 years. I have also helped take care of the children of family and older friends since I was aged 16. My recent babysitting experience has been that of my 2-year-old twin nieces just before I arrived in Japan.

Comfortable caring for

Children

  • 6 - 12 months old
  • 1 - 3 years old
  • 4 - 6 years old
  • 7 - 11 years old
  • 12+ years old
2 Children

Skills & Services

Languages

  • English

Services

  • Online Lessons
  • Pick up children from
  • Mother's helper after childbirth
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Cooking/Meal Preparation
  • Care with foreign language
  • Homework help
  • Events
  • Overnight
  • Travel
  • Pet care

Certificates

Bachelor of Arts, English

Availability

 
6am - 9am
9am - 12pm
12pm - 3pm
3pm - 6pm
6pm - 9pm
9pm - 12am
12am - 6am
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
This schedule may not be up-to-date.

Reviews

5
Your rating: 5

Portia is very kind!
My children enjoyed time with her.
Thank you, Portia.

あや
5
Your rating: 5

Portia is a great babysitter as she is very kind, calm and is smiling all the time to the children. She listens to the children very well and talks to them to make them feel happy!
My 4years daughter loved her straight away. My 1year old son was crying but she was very patient and tried hard to make him feel comfortable.

Y.H
5
Your rating: 5

She is very nice and my boy likes her.
She loves talking to a baby and my boy likes it.
Even though I told her that she could put him on the bed during sleeping, she hold him all time. That's why he had a very good sleep!!! After she left, my boy was trying to find her.
Thank you

Sumie
4
Your rating: 4

Portia has been super helpful in taking care of our baby girl, they seemed to have had a great time together playing and reading books.
Will definitely ask her to come again to give us a hand.
Putting baby down for a nap was a little hard as it was the first time for them to meet but I think that’s completely understandable. I’m convinced things will get better with time.

Carlotta
5
Your rating: 5

Portia was great with our 9 month old little girl. I felt very comfortable leaving my baby (for the first time) with her :)

Emi
3
Your rating: 3

とても穏やかで静かな方です。子供達が遊んでいる横でほとんど喋らずニコニコしていました。3時間ずっとこんなに静かだったのは初めてです。

leaf
5
Your rating: 5

外遊びが大好きな娘なので、寒い中、とても長い時間、お散歩&公園遊びに付き合って下さいました。最初に、練習させて欲しい英単語&言い回しリストを作成してお渡しした所、一生懸命確認下さり、シッティングの中で取り入れてくださるなど、英語学習のサポートもして下さいました。お会いしてすぐ、アレルギーの確認もして下さり、お散歩の途中でも確認の連絡を下さるなど、安心して子供を預ける事ができました。また予約させて頂きます!今日は長時間、ありがとうございました。

Kana
5
Your rating: 5

[CareFinder Team Review]

Portia is a very kind and outgoing person. She has been caring for children in and round her family from a young age. This has allowed her to have a strong passion for childcare and helping them to learn new skills. Portia hopes to use her skills to help many CareFinder families in need. We believe she will make a great sitter or tutor for any CareFinder family!

Jasmine@CareFinder

Thank you for the kind words!

Portia
Find the best babysitter for your family today!