7 reviews

Introduction

Hello! Lovely you meet you, my name is Naomi!

I am a university student from Seattle, Washington, currently studying psychology at Temple University Japan in Tokyo. I moved to Tokyo in May 2019 to finish my undergraduate degree, which focuses on cross-cultural child psychology. I love working with children and adolescents, and have been involved through academic, professional, and volunteer work for about 10 years.

My Approach to Caregiving:

At university, my studies focus on cross-cultural youth mental health. I am passionate about helping youth learn to understand and experience themselves in a healthy, adaptable way. This translates best as the compassion and patience I prioritize when working with children. I understand the importance of friendly, reliable, and safe attachments in youth development. It is a privilege to occupy this role as a caregiver, whether short- or long-term. Furthermore, I understand that children learn from watching others, so it is incredibly important to be a good role model. With my interest and background in youth mental and emotional wellbeing, I am well-equipped to set those positive examples.

Activities I Bring to Caregiving:

Beyond university, I love writing, dance, music, adventuring in nature, exploring new places, and practicing mindfulness and meditation. I enjoy getting to share my passions through activities with youth, particularly when we can be curious and imaginative together. I grew up as a dancer and gymnast, but now my artistic expression comes mostly from my writing and playing music. I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, and am always excited to help children explore their own creative writing.

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to working with you!



Une petite introduction en français:

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Naomi. Je suis une étudiante à l’université en Tokyo. Je suis arrivée à Tokyo deux années dernière, et j’étudie le psychologie. J’aime bien de travailler avec des énfants, et je suis très enthousiaste de continuer de faire ça en Tokyo.

Pour les activités, j'aime bien écrire, danser, jouer la musique, faire des aventures dans la nature, la méditation et des autres choses comme ça. Quand je travaille avec des énfants, je suis heureuse de faire ces activités avec eux!

Merci beaucoup et j'espère que je peux travailler pour votre famille!

Experience

Babysitting & Childcare (~8 years of experience):

In Seattle, I worked with children aged 3 months to 10 years in several babysitting and childcare settings. For babysitting, I worked primarily with two families. I was with my first family for five years and they had two children, a girl (4 – 9 years old) and a boy (5 – 10 years old). I babysat for daytimes and evenings, overnights, and vacations. In addition to watching the children, I helped with cooking, cleaning, and learning/homework help. I was with my second family for about six months, and helped a new mother by providing supervised childcare for her daughter (9 – 10 months). For this family, I mostly helped with playing, feeding, and sleeping. Beyond babysitting, I worked in infant classrooms for a therapeutic daycare center for one year. Children in these classrooms were aged 3 to 20 months old, and I assisted with playing, feeding, sleeping, and teaching safe body practices during emotional outbursts.
In Japan, I have worked with four families, both international and Japanese. I have babysat children ranging from 16 months to 7 years old, performing both in- and out-of-home activities from play/educational activities in English to school pick-up and park adventures. I am used to working with varying English language ability, so I am able to adapt to each child's unique English proficiency.

Youth Education (~4 years of experience):

In Seattle, I worked with children aged 16 months to 16 years old through roles in youth education. First, I volunteered as a day camp counselor. During this time, I worked with children 4 – 9 years old doing artistic and athletic play activities, and supervision during field trips. Most recently, I helped teach youth mindfulness and meditation practices in both schools and meditation center. In schools, I helped lead lessons for breath awareness, loving kindness, and mindful movement in classrooms ranging from toddlers to 10 year-olds. In meditation centers, I helped lead similar lessons that included more specific meditative practices, and these classes were for 13 – 16 year-olds.
In Japan, I have worked as a Native English Teacher for children aged 4 to 12 years old, as well as led various workshops and English tutoring sessions for university students.

Comfortable caring for

Children

  • 6 - 12 months old
  • 1 - 3 years old
  • 4 - 6 years old
  • 7 - 11 years old
  • 12+ years old
2 Children

Skills & Services

Languages

  • Japanese
  • English
  • French

Services

  • Pick up children from
  • Mother's helper after childbirth
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Cooking/Meal Preparation
  • Care with foreign language
  • Homework help
  • Events
  • Overnight
  • Travel
  • Pet care
Socio-emotional learning, secular mindfulness and meditation for youth

Certificates

  • Studying childcare
Mindful Educator

Availability

 
6am - 9am
9am - 12pm
12pm - 3pm
3pm - 6pm
6pm - 9pm
9pm - 12am
12am - 6am
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
This schedule may not be up-to-date.

Reviews

5
Your rating: 5

おもちゃやお歌、お散歩をして時間いっぱい遊んでいただき7か月の息子もとても楽しそうでした。
初めての利用でしたが、お話ししやすく明るい方だったので、わたしも主人も安心できました。ありがとうございました!

NANA
5
Your rating: 5

Extremely energetic and great character! Our daughter had much fun playing with her. Definitely reccommend.

jun
5
Your rating: 5

She is a gem, very cheerful and the kids can't stop liking her :)

Aya
5
Your rating: 5

She was kind and enjoyed time with my kids. At the end of the sitting, they asked me when she would come again which means they really like her.

KAJI SAYAKA
5
Your rating: 5

とても明るくチャーミングな方でした!子供の扱いにも慣れていて、最初は少し人見知りしていた息子ですがすぐに懐いて楽しく遊んでいました。またお願いしたいです!

Eriko
5
Your rating: 5

She's amazing and so engaged, my kids love her and keep asking for her to come back!

Kathryn
5
Your rating: 5

Naomi is bubbly and has a welcoming personality. She has a vast amount of experience in babysitting, in addition to a background in education and psychology. If you are looking for a babysitter who can take care of your children, teach and do various creative activities, she would be a great addition to your family!

Andie@CareFinder
Find the best babysitter for your family today!